Sara Hardigan – October Mom of the Month

Aaron, Sara and Reese

A member since May 2009, Sara  brings something to every class -whether it is a funny story, book recommendation or just her lovely daughter Reese.  Sara is also the perfect reminder and example of a Fit Mama as she attends class regularly even though she’s 8 1/2 months pregnant with her second child.

Great Job Sara!

Who are the members of your family? My husband, Aaron, our daughter, Reese, and the newest addition arriving on Oct 12th is baby boy Avery. We also have three other “kids”; our dogs Sofie, Fido and Izzy.


What was/is your previous and/or current career? I was in advertising for a few years but I wanted to travel. So I became an English as a Second Language (ESL) teacher. After I met my husband we adopted Fido, one of our dogs, who had some SERIOUS behavioral problems and that led me into the career I’m currently working in as a dog trainer.


How long have you been a Stroller Strides Member and what has Stroller Strides done for you? I have been a member of Stroller Strides since May 2009. It’s introduced me to some amazing women (obviously!) and kept me motivated to exercise throughout my pregnancy. My OBGYN is so impressed that I’ve only gained 16 pounds eight and half months into this pregnancy. My husband has actually gained more weight than I have! But for me, the most valuable thing that is has done for me is make sure I get adult conversation with smart, funny people.


What are some of your favorite things (besides your husband and kids!)? My biggest passion is traveling. I also enjoy reading and photography. I love to be outside, so hiking and dog agility is up there on the list too. Oh, and a vodka martini with a twist.


Tell us something about you that would surprise us. On the dance floor, I do an amazing (yet embarrassing) version of the Humpty Dance. Yes, it does include ‘limping to the side like your leg is broken.’ And I also love karaoke… even though no one loves to hear my sing it! I also DEEPLY believe that every woman should own a black lace bra and a cordless drill at the same time.


If we asked your husband what he thought your best qualities are, what would he say for personality? Physically? For personality my husband loves my sense of adventure and the fact that I am pretty outgoing. He’s on the reserved side, so I think it’s nice for him that I’m the one that goes out and meets people. Physically he’d have to go for the boobs. They were pretty nice before but now that I’m pregnant they are HUGE. God bless a breast man…


If you would like to nominate a mom for Mom of the Month, please email Bernadette or Lisa with the name of who you would like to nominate and the reasons why you think she’s the North San Antonio Stroller Strides Mom of the Month.

Leave a Reply

